Life -Financial Success

Standard

Financial success has different meanings for different people but I will talk about what it means for me and how I achieved what small and limited success I have had in my life.

I was taught at the age of 16 or 17 by people around me and the education system that you need to make enough money to pay your bills and survive. I followed this advice for a time and the following diagram illustrates what I went threw.

 

failure1

 

After a time  I realised that I was not achieving anything and that the constant stress of the situation was effecting my health and my life in general. So I decided to change my life and get to a point where I can have some king of progress every year. The following diagram illustrates how I changed my life.

 

 

 

sucess1

 

 

 

 

Now I know many people will say its impossible to do what I did and I would even get managers at my place of work saying “but how do you do that “and that’s after I have explained it to them because there minds are fixed on a certain way of living. So hears what I did.

1)I lived by necessity

2)Saved

3) Invested in things that make money

I’l go threw each one of these one by one and show you how its done.

 

1) Living by necessity

This is the most important one for me because I find this the hardest one to do and I think most people will find it hard to live by necessity. So what does it mean to live by necessity well you only spend money on things you absolutely need like food, water, electricity, gas, house tax, internet and travel to or from work. That’s it and don’t spend money on anything else. If your making a wage that only meets the national minimum wage, this will still work for you. You just can’t spend on things other than these, now I know you will have to buy clothes from time to time and that’s fine but I will say only buy clothes you will wear and only have a few pairs of clothes and shoes.

 

2) Saving

If you live by necessity you will have money left over to save and it may be small to begin with depending on how much you spend on your basic needs but don’t loose hope this is just the beginning. I wold say start looking for safe ways to save your money and get a return so for example you put it in bank accounts that may pay you interest even if its small its better than nothing.

 

3)Investing

When you invest in things you have 3 types of investments

a) No risk

b) Acceptable risk

c) High risk

a)no risk investments are the ones where you know you can easily get your money out anytime you like so for example if your living in London we know the house prices are constantly going up so if you buy a house there for cash you can sell it quickly without having to wait for years and without the risk of falling house prices.( now  know house prices have fallen in recent years but in London they have bounced back and grown)

b) Acceptable Risk

Again im going to use houses as and example for this. so if you buy a house in a location other than London you may get a grater percentage return in terms of rental income compared to London but the risk is a little higher as the house prices could fall. keep in mind the example is based on buying a house for cash so in the long term you can easily cope with periods with no rent which means your in a better position to wait out the bad times and wait for your house to increase in price.(location is key in this example and I use the rule” invest only in what you know” so if you don’t know the area then don’t invest there.

c) High risk investments are the ones where you have a high chance of loosing your money like  starting a business, stocks and shares ect. I have never taken high risk but I have always dodged a bullet many times as things that my look like they are acceptable risk investments may later become high risk investments and the key to avoiding these situations is research. make sure you know anything and everything you can about your potential investments. Don’t allow people or the situation your in to rush you into making decision. Take your time even if it costs a little extra money.

Listen to your instinct it will tell you when something is not right. Only invest when you feel comfortable investing.

manage your risk by planning in 3 stages how to get in , contingency’s in case things go wrong and how to get out with as much of your investment as possible.

 

Well I hope this was informative. I have tried to provide information where I could but if you would like more detail then please contact me or if you would like to contribute to the post then please email me a post,I will add it hear and credit you. Please like, subscribe and comment. (copy right 2014)

Leave a Reply

