Travel to the Philippines – Getting from the Airport to your place of residence.

Standard

Getting from the Airport to where your staying is not that difficult and you have mainly 3 options.

1) Take a Taxi

2)Take the bus although you will have to take a taxi to the bus station

3) Get someone to pick you up in a van or a car.

 

Taking a Taxi

white taxi phili

This is quite easy to do as when you come out of the Airport you will find the taxi’s to your right. Although I find Taxi’s to be quite expensive its a lot cheaper than what we have in the U.K or US. Make sure you get the taxi driver to turn on the meter and another thing you can do to make sure your at least going in the right direction is to use the google maps on your cell phone or mobile phone as we call them hear in the U.K. I have used this method before but you will need access to the internet and I had a pocket wifi device with me at the time ( I will talk about pocket wifi and how to set one up in a later post). Anyway to give you some idea how much it should cost I will tell you it cost me 580 peso( £8.28 or $13.18 US Dollars) to catch a taxi to the bus station in 2010 and I had a local person with me. He did offer to take us all the way to Bulacan where I was spending my fist night for 3,000 peso which is around £42 or $68 US Dollars but as it was my first time there I didn’t know if that was reasonable or I was getting ripped off so I took the cheapest option.

Taking The Bus

bus phili

Like I said on my first Visit I was cautious so I took the cheapest option for travel just until I knew what the prices where ect. so we took the Taxi from the Airport to the bus station for 580 peso which is around £8.28 or  $13.18 US Dollars. The bus costs 55 peso(£0.78 or $1.25 US Dollars per person from Manila to Malolos in Bulacan.

Getting Someone to come pick you up in a van or a car

van phili

I did this for my other 3 visits as I realised after traveling for more than 14 hours with a 7 hour wait between flights, I am to tierd to take a bus and besides the first time I took the bus I felt sick. So how do you arrange this, well you need to have friends locally who will help you and organise this for you but the cost should be between 3000 and 3500 peso(£42 to £50 or $68 to $79 US Dollars). Its also important to note that if someone is coming to pick you up then you need to go out of the Airport, across the road and down the ramp and you will see from there that there are a lot of people waiting so that’s where you need to go.

ramp1

Please keep in mind that it can take up to 4 hours to get out of Manila because the traffic is terrible but again this depends on what time you arrive and what the traffic is like on the day.

Note: Please do not allow the Taxi drivers to take you anywhere without the meter running unless you know exactly where your going and how much it should cost. I would also have a local person with me just in case it turns into an argument as the taxi drivers do try to rip off tourists. All taxi’s and some busses have Air con

Well I hope this helped you guys and feel free to comment, like or subscribe. if you have any questions I would be more than happy to answer them.

 

Leave a Reply

